Hey gents, how's it going?

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Hey gents, how's it going?

Postby Godzilla2456 » Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:58 pm

Hey all,

Thought I'd just introduce myself here before posting elsewhere.

I've been distilling for 2-3 years now and love every minute of it. I know that this will be a life long hobby (I'm only 20 years old).

I started with the little air cooled pot still from still spirits and got rid of it after a few months. I've now got the T500 reflux still from still spirits. I'm happy with it for the time being (and foreseeable future) but I will eventually get a big beautiful adjustable column condenser with a nice big copper boiler.

I currently do a TPW and double distill it. The first run I do without any cuts apart from the foreshore... Of course. The second time round I water the spirit down to approximately 30% then make appropriate 300-400ml cuts. Leave it to breathe overnight then give it a whirl a day or two later, once it's settled down. I keep the hearts and usually put a bit of tails in and then put it on bourbon staves for a few weeks.

Okay that was a random little tail of what I do. Anyway, I'm glad to be a part of the forum and look forward to communicating with you gents in the future!

-Godzilla
Godzilla2456

equipment: T500 Reflux Still + a copper pot still head with leibig

Re: Hey gents, how's it going?

Postby Zak Griffin » Wed Jul 23, 2014 6:23 am

Welcome Godzilla! Good to see another young lad here looking for quality, not quantity :handgestures-thumbupleft:

Sounds like you've got the right idea, a bit confused by your cuts though... Are you collecting in 300ml jars and then watering each sample down? You're probably better off letting the spirit breathe over night at >90%, or whatever it leaves the still at, and watering down a sample from each jar after airing.