Hello from the Wimmera

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Hello from the Wimmera

Postby gemini2544 » Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:11 am

Hi All, I am new to the forum & Distilling, although I have been brewing beer for over 20 years. I have a co2 system & a kegerator for the beer but I recently purchased a "Spirit Maker" a cooper reflux still with a 30 liter boiler. I have a wash bubbling away as I write & can't wait to make my first batch. I do think I made a small mistake last night mixing the wash. I was supposed to make up 21 liters of water then add 8 kilos of sugar the phone rang & I lost count. I finished up with 29 liters total volume in the fermenter so I hope it's right! My logic says 21 liters of water & the weight of 8 kilos of sugar should be 29 liters. Please advise me if I got this wrong as it's not too late to add water or more sugar.

Anyway I hope to be an active member for years to come.

Regards,
Doug
gemini2544

equipment: a Copper reflux still ("Spirit Maker") a 60lt fermentor, a 5000lt water tank for recirculation cooling.

Re: Hello from the Wimmera

Postby Urrazeb » Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:51 am

Hey mate welcome.

Seems to be natural progression going from beer to spirits :handgestures-thumbupleft:

If I were you I'd add water to get the potential wash abv down to about 10% at the moment it will finish at 16% which is too high.

I take it you are doing a turbo wash? Check out the tried and proven section of the fourm, and have a crack at a TPW.

Turbos will get you some nasty spirit, theres heaps on the fourm about the disadvantages of this yeast.

Have a poke around mate, we'll see you get the right start :handgestures-thumbupleft:
Urrazeb

equipment: Column & pot

Postby gemini2544 » Wed Oct 22, 2014 11:22 am