Hi, from Perth

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Hi, from Perth

Postby valkorum » Mon Jan 19, 2015 4:04 pm

I'm from Perth, enjoy long drinks on the beach.... oh wait, wrong site.

I am a newbie at distilling but really really enjoy making my own spirits. I currently have a 30 litre home spirit maker copper still. I am just starting to understand different aspects of distilling (going to try my first strip run shortly).

I am in the process of building a new shed with a designated spot for distilling. There is a lot of information/techniques to learn so please forgive me if I am a little slow on the uptake.

My first question is....

Is there any point in me trying a nutri-grain wash through my pot still? I am assuming that I would lose all the flavours during the distilling process. As I understand the flavour would get "stripped out" during the distilling. I would be better off using the tomato paste recipe.
valkorum

equipment: 5 Star 4" Pot. Still need to find funds to buy bubble plates

Re: Hi, from Perth

Postby 1 2many » Mon Jan 19, 2015 4:44 pm

Welcome aboard mate, plenty to learn here. A pot still is the go for the nutragrain wash mate, the pot will carry over the flavour. :handgestures-thumbupleft:
1 2many
Lifetime Member

equipment: Portable A.G brewery ,#001 5 STAR blockhead 4" Modular 4 plate SSG with,6"inline thumper, 2.5" 9 tube shotgun, packed section, Boiler 50 ltr inverted keg 4"still mount, 2.4 Kw FSD elements 1"drain.

Postby woodduck » Mon Jan 19, 2015 4:49 pm

G'day volkorum, welcome :wave:

I think the nutrigrain wash would be perfect for a pot still. When people talk about strip runs this is for double distlling, which is nessesary for pot stills. Strip several washes down to 20% then put them all together then do a spirit run. This is something you will have to research a bit more to fully understand so my suggestion is to do some reading in the newbies section then it will all become clear.

Good luck with your new endeavors.
woodduck