G'day from Tassie

Say Hi and introduce yourself

G'day from Tassie

Postby engine giant » Sun Feb 01, 2015 12:29 am

Well, here I am, new to the game but learning a lot already, particularly about Tomato Paste Washes, they really seem to be the go.
Other than sampling the odd bottle of someone else's product I have never distilled before, but have brewed beer on and off for 20 plus years so understand the need for cleanliness etc.
About to purchase my first still in the next week or so and currently weighing up the Turbo 500 starter kit and the Essencia starter kit, with the Essencia being around $300 more expensive. I did consider the Pure Distilling Still, but pricing seems very high for what it is and nobody seems to stock them in Tasmania. The Turbo 500 seems easily converted from reflux to pot still into the bargain. Any input greatly appreciated on that subject.
Being a Boilermaker by trade, I can see myself "building the better mouse trap" in the future once I actually know what I want and what is needed.
Anyway, I hope to get to know a few of you a lot better through this forum and learn even more.
engine giant

equipment: Nothing as yet.

Re: G'day from Tassie

Postby benpandaae86 » Sun Feb 01, 2015 12:46 am

Welcome mate great place to start do some readin no questions are silly

What do you drink rum scotch bourbon

You may want a pot still

Dont waste ur money on a t500 either build ur self a 3inch boka , plated colume, pot still or spend the money and get one of the best quality stills around from macs shop

Tpw is a great place to start if youve had experience with beer you should be able to do ag spirits with ease

Happy stilling
benpandaae86

equipment: 50l keg boiler 3600w element power controler
Reflux with extension tower with adaptor for keg
2" SS pot still modified leibig condenser
next mission building the next one (probably a 4" bubbler)

Postby Urrazeb » Sun Feb 01, 2015 3:57 am

Welcome
Urrazeb

equipment: Column & pot