Greetings and salutations...

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Greetings and salutations...

Postby scythe » Tue May 05, 2015 12:50 pm

So I've been lurking here for a while, added a bit here and there, and figured it was about time to make it official.
Through the extreme generosity of the members here i have a received some 2", 4" and various other bits and pieces (redux, royboy73 and Shiftynev )
And with them I have set about fulfilling my current distillate related dream of a 4" bubbler.
My background is fitter/machinist (i'm more machinist than fitter) but have never soldered apart from the 2-3 lessons we did back at tafe during my apprenticeship

Progress is slow but rolling on.
To date ive managed to cobble together 90% of an RC, 40% of some 2" bubble caps and about 85% of a PC.
here are some pics (lets see if this works):
here we have my initial stage of RC construction, initially it was going to be 120mm-ish tall.
after shortening the 4" outer pipe to 80mm-ish and making up some end plates i followed Mac's guide for soldering the bottom plate.
The i decided i wanted to put in a baffle so that my water didn't shortcut half my RC.
Given that it was so "small" (atleast in my mind) now i wanted to ensure as much cooling as possible.
You can see what i thought was my first mistake of my build.
I soldered the baffle to the wall such a rookie error, this only highlighted to me my actual first error, not drilling my end plates and baffle at the same time.
So previously all my vapor tubes slid in nicely and now all of them were out of alignment by about 3-4mm :angry-banghead:
So then after spending about 2hrs filing my baffle holes to allow my tubes to slide through i had the brilliant idea of de-soldering the baffle completely.