bbq chimney starter alcohol fueled

A forum for sharing your favorite food recipes and condiments.

bbq chimney starter alcohol fueled

Postby warramungas » Sat Jul 27, 2019 11:16 pm

Hi guys.
So started cooking with a weber style charcoal bbq but Ive struggled to get my heat beads going in the bbq chimney. Its more for smoking and char grilling and so far, though Im a noob, Im impressed.
Anyway, I built one of those soda can burners that burns alcohol and put that underneath the chimney. Works like an absolute charm.
Highly recommend it and its a good use of waste spirit.
20190727_210606.jpg

20190727_210538.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
warramungas

equipment: 180 litre fermenter x 2
30 liter boiler
PDA-1
2" four plate modular bubbler
2" one meter long LM column
110 liter boiler with 25 liter (max) inline thumper
4" x 4 plate bubble cap still

Re: bbq chimney starter alcohol fueled

Postby db1979 » Sun Jul 28, 2019 7:49 am

Fantastic :handgestures-thumbupleft:
Now go mow your lawn :laughing-rolling:
db1979

equipment: Eve - 4" x 4 plate solid state bubbler (sieve plates), 330 mm packed section on a keg boiler with 2 x 2000 W elements.
Currently having a makeover: 2" x 4 plate solid state bubbler (1" bubble caps, no sight glasses...maybe not for much longer!) on a bain-marie boiler.

Postby the Doctor » Sun Jul 28, 2019 9:51 am

We use cotton wool balls soaked in ethanol as firelighters...we have used them for years and have found them great fire starters.
Doc
the Doctor

equipment: 6 plate bubble cap, grain brewery

Postby warramungas » Sun Jul 28, 2019 1:03 pm

the Doctor wrote:We use cotton wool balls soaked in ethanol as firelighters...we have used them for years and have found them great fire starters.
Doc

Spent my formative years lighting the fire in the potbelly at home. Fire startings easy compared to getting these charcoal briquette thingies started. :handgestures-thumbdown:
warramungas