Help me proble solve FSD 4 inch SSG

Perforated & bubble cap plated columns

Help me proble solve FSD 4 inch SSG

Postby viking » Wed Sep 20, 2017 7:51 pm

Hey All,

I've been running the FSD 4 inch SSG for a few years. Over the last 6 months or so I can't seem to get it to hold the abv % steady during a spirit run. It starts off fine but within a couple of jars it starts to slowing decrease abv throughout the run. I've check leaks in the column and can't find anything. I've changed the pump & cooling lines. retaped all seals. I've bought new alcometers just in case. I've checked both condensers for water leaks. Checked with compressed air as well - no leaks.

What I have noticed when running both condensers the reflux is on about a 1/4 of a turn with it running a toothpick size stream approx. 2L per hour. Over the duration of the run the output decreases. If I turn off the reflux the temp of the output distillate raises significantly.

What have a missed?
Any help or advice is welcome. I need to get this running soon - my rum stocks are getting low.

Cheers
viking

equipment: FSD 4 inch SSG 5 plates with packed section and 100L FSD boiler.

Re: Help me proble solve FSD 4 inch SSG

Postby bluc » Wed Sep 20, 2017 7:54 pm

What is your water setup? Recirc how many litres?
bluc
Site Donor

equipment: 2" pot with 2" shotty 400mm long 5x 1/2" on a t500 boiler.
50l keg boiler 4" still mount 4" sight glass 1" drain..
4 plate 4" bubbler, 600mm packed section

Postby viking » Wed Sep 20, 2017 7:58 pm

rec-circ with about 900L in an IBC. Checked the temp of this it is cold.
viking

Postby orcy » Wed Sep 20, 2017 8:00 pm

Possible leak only when the system is hot? Or your cooling watet is getting too hot and not maintaining reflux levels throughout the run.
orcy

equipment: Old style T500 style still. honestly, I dont even remember who made it anymore
4 inch soon to be modular pot.

Postby bluc » Wed Sep 20, 2017 8:15 pm