Paddo's 3" Glass Bubbler Build

Perforated & bubble cap plated columns

Paddo's 3" Glass Bubbler Build

Postby Paddosbrew » Fri May 29, 2015 4:24 pm

Paddos 3” Glasser Build
So after a couple of months of reading all of the great info on this forum, I decided to have a crack at building a glass bubbler. I have never brewed anything so hello ground zero ;-) .
I decided to build it, then post this with the results. So having built it, here’s the running commentary and lots of pics. Hopefully this will help others starting out from scratch with a strong desire to go the bubbler build………….
Apart from some basic pipe to pipe brazing experience back in my fridge repair days 20 years ago, I have no other copper work experience until now.
So, to start I needed some copper pipe and the best cost effective source for this proved to be a local metal recycler. I made 2 visits in total before I got all I needed for the build, including sections for cutting and flattening.
Here are some bits after cutting with the angle grinder and pipe cutter for 1” & smaller pipe…
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Paddosbrew

equipment: 3" Glass Bubbler

Re: Paddo's 3" Glass Bubbler Build

Postby Paddosbrew » Fri May 29, 2015 4:25 pm

Looking at what I now had in pipe and what builds I had read about, I decided to change the original build a little, so from the bottom up, I went:
Boiler - A modified 50 litre keg for the boiler, 4” hole cut & ferrule welded on to cater for 4” site glass & SS Clamp; 32mm hole cut into the lower front for my 3000 Watt Weldless Heater Element; a 1/2" hole cut into the bottom for my 1/2" drain & ball valve.
I got an 1/2" brass elbow and nut and ball valve from Bunnings, element from ebay, sight glass and SS Clamp from 5 Star Distilling. I also got my regulator and wattmeter from ebay and made my own rig, incorporating an electrical cover (junction box) for my element connections.