First Bubbler Attempt

Perforated & bubble cap plated columns

First Bubbler Attempt

Postby brewman » Mon Oct 19, 2015 9:15 pm

G'day Gents,

Been working on a glass bubber for a couple of weeks so I've got a bit of progress to share. Big thanks to all the other builders for the inspiration.

It's all soft soldered as I tried the silver soldering and it turned out woeful. Gave up on it pretty quick as I'm only a newb and the soft soldering was much easier. I slacked off on the bubble caps and downcomers and just bought ready made ones to save some effort. They look ok but not as nice as the home made versions.

Here's how it's looking so far.

1.jpg

I've built the condensers as well and just waiting on some 4" reducers to put it all together. Haven't started on the electric conversion for my boiler yet but that shouldn't be too far off.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
brewman

equipment: 2" pot and 4" bubbler

Re: First Bubbler Attempt

Postby wiifm » Mon Oct 19, 2015 10:49 pm

Brewman the sleeper! :handgestures-thumbupleft:

Lovely work mate.

How quickly can you pull it down with the notches in your plates?
wiifm

equipment: 4 plate glasser using FSD bubble caps

Postby Thelegion » Tue Oct 20, 2015 8:24 am

Dam these are breeding like rabbits,

great idea with the retaining nutz and washers :text-+1:

cheers,TL...
Thelegion

equipment: FOR YOUR 4" BUBBLING PLEASURE

Postby brewman » Tue Oct 20, 2015 8:58 am

It took me about half an hour to assemble and tension it up and shouldn't be more than 5 minutes to strip it down.

Just looking at it now I really should have placed two nuts on each rod below the plates so that position could be locked. Tensioning up to the same position each time would then be very quick. Might do that when it next comes apart.
brewman

Postby dogbreath vodka » Tue Oct 20, 2015 9:06 am

It is a thing of beauty much to be admired.
:handgestures-thumbupleft:
dogbreath vodka