Silver brazing rods

Posts in this forum should be a complete method, educational, with pics where applicable,posts made in this area that don't fit this criteria will be moved at mods discretion.

Silver brazing rods

Postby Knocklofty » Fri Oct 14, 2016 10:43 pm

Hi folks, just looking at 56 silver rods , does anyone have a preference for fluxed or unfluxed rods
Thanks
Knocklofty

equipment: Reflux and pot

Re: Silver brazing rods

Postby coffe addict » Fri Oct 14, 2016 11:01 pm

On the whole flux isn't needed just heat to red and allow to cool to black. Then braze away. I've found flux handy when you can't get the heat at the right place (ie something in the way) a little flux can help get a good flow of of brazing rod into the hard to get places.

So I would go for unfluxed rods and a small pot of flux.
I'm still a novice though so hopefully someone more experienced will chime in.
coffe addict

equipment: 18 gal keg boiler on its side on wheel's with fill port, 1in drain and 2x2.4kw elements
4in 5 plate modular blockhead with optional infusion basket

Postby rumdidlydum » Sat Oct 15, 2016 6:20 am

I found the fluxed ones a pain in the arse, unfluxed for me. :D
rumdidlydum

equipment: The infamous Illuminated chicken leg boiler, Rum glass and other bits and bobs

Postby Carbonator » Sat Oct 15, 2016 10:26 am

Unfluxed and the higher the Silver content (more expensive) the better the flow into the joint, therefor, easier for a beginner. Copper to copper, just get both cherry red and remove flame and hit it with the solder. If copper to brass or brass to brass, I found the flux paste a must have.
Carbonator

equipment: Nothing at this stage - just looking for ideas.

Postby Diggermandan » Wed Sep 06, 2017 5:39 pm

So 15% are the way to go ??
Diggermandan

equipment: Building researching new still running t500 ATM

Postby hillzabilly » Wed Sep 06, 2017 6:18 pm