Righto, Ive got the keg. Where to Now?

Boiler, burner and boiler modification talk.

Righto, Ive got the keg. Where to Now?

Postby Woodsy71 » Thu Feb 13, 2014 7:04 am

Ok,

Im kegged up.

The only other thing ive purchased is a kegking 2400w weldless element (and then read the plethora of bum reviews on said element :angry-banghead: )

What im unsure about is exactly what i need to purchase in order to create a basic electric setup for a 50l keg that encompasses.

1. A drain port.

2. A fill port

And from what ive read, i will need a better setup for the element.

Luckily, my neighbour is handy on the tools, so cuts, welding etc are covered and a sparky mate on the bench if required.

Ive read through the info in this section and there are so many ways to go about keg conversion.

Im not tech savvy, so basically want to write up a shopping list and get it done :handgestures-thumbupleft:

All advice appreciated

Thanks

Woodsy
Woodsy71

equipment: CM and a Pot

Re: Righto, ive got the keg. Where to Now?

Postby BackInBlack » Thu Feb 13, 2014 7:48 am

Try the site store, they have all the s/s fittings and elements you need.
BackInBlack

equipment: 4 inch 6 plate FSD still
50ltr keg, cooking on gas

Re: Righto, ive got the keg. Where to know?

Postby backyard brewdog » Thu Feb 13, 2014 7:57 am

Hey mate,

Keeping it simple sometimes is best. Everyone keeps talking about these fill ports and drain ports. Jeez we all started somewhere and added these things along the way :laughing-rolling:

If your mate is able to do the welding all well and good get the stuff done. I'm quite content with my drain only and no fill port. I pull my still down after every run anyway and don't do any back to back. My water temp is to high after a run to do another one :laughing-rolling: and after being with my beauty for about 4 hours i've had enough anyway.