First still, 2" copper build

Pot still design and discussion

Postby seehuusen » Mon May 29, 2017 8:13 am

G'day fellow enthusiasts,

I've been brewing all grain beers for a few years now, and love producing something unique and high quality. Experimenting with food or drink is very much a passion of mine, and knowing what is in it equally important.

A few months ago, a mate of mine asked whether or not I'd considered distilling some of the beers I'd made.
We quickly devised an idea of brewing and distilling, and so I started looking around. I found this beaut forum, filled with all you good people :handgestures-thumbupleft:

The other day, I saw a thread by Peter01010101, viewtopic.php?f=7&t=10302
I really liked the still, so I headed over to the local plumbing shop and started looking for the bits I needed.
I didn't really want to look through scrap metal recyclers, it seemed too much work for the effort, so I bought the bits I thought I needed direct from the plumbing store.

All copper of course:
1m 2" Pipe
1m 3/4" Pipe
2m 1/2" Pipe

1x 3/4" - 1" Reducer
3x 3/4 - 1/2" Reducer
2x 90 degree bend
1x 45 degree bend

and some silver solder, ~$108 I think that was :cool:

20170528_203521 (Medium).jpg

On ebay I sourced a stainless 2" tri-clover clamp, which should marry up with a 50l keg.
I'll be using my 3-ring burner, sitting the lot on my brewery stand.

Yesterday evening after the kids and wife had gone to bed, I started the build. Only got about 2 hours in, but that was enough to build the condenser.

First up, using a round file to remove the little ridge inside the reducer.
20170528_203556 (Medium).jpg

20170528_203616 (Medium).jpg

Test fit
20170528_204049 (Medium).jpg

20170528_204329 (Medium).jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
seehuusen

equipment: 50L 2" Full Copper Pot Still. Thumper in the planning.

Postby seehuusen » Mon May 29, 2017 8:17 am

All soldered up
20170528_213741 (Medium).jpg