Oh no, another 2 inch pot still build.

Pot still design and discussion

Oh no, another 2 inch pot still build.

Postby 78Monk » Fri Mar 29, 2019 10:17 pm

Just thought I'd put up a post detailing the progress of my build from the view of a complete novice builder attempting a ground up build of a keg pot still.
There will be nothing creative or original here. A pretty standard build.

The plan - build a small upgrade to my *cough* airstill *cough* that's modular for future upgrades (maybe a CCVM).

The boiler.

50 litre keg.
2 x 2400W elements.
1 controller. (for 1 element)
Use the original 2 inch hole for the column.
4 inch ferrule port with a sight glass for wankyness.

The pot.
All 2 inch copper.
850mm column. 2 inch ferrules at each end allowing for modular options later.
500mm shotgun. Not sure how many cores (?) yet I'm thinking 5 - 7 1/2 inch.

The outcome.
Not get heavy metal poisoning and make good booze.

I have the keg, I have the copper, solder and flux.
Waiting on ferrules, triclamps, sight glass, elements and controller.

I'll post pics when I work out how.

*Disclaimer*
I don't know all the correct terminology yet. Please feel free to correct me if I call a potato a pear. Also I'm learning and I'm thick skinned if I'm fucking up tell me as bluntly as possible lol.

Also if I'm in the wrong place or this isn't allowed admins/mods please move or delete.

Thanks for reading.

Monk
78Monk

equipment: -Gypsy-
50l Keg boiler, 2 x 2200W elements.
2" copper pot 850mm column.
500mm shotgun condenser.

Airstill (RETIRED)

Re: Oh no, another 2 inch pot still build.

Postby Doubleuj » Fri Mar 29, 2019 11:04 pm

Sorry monk, it’s definitely not ok to post stuff about actual distilling here. I’m going to pour another camomile tea and listen to the soothing sounds of enya..
:laughing-rolling: