CM reflux bubbler without plates

Reflux still design and discussion

CM reflux bubbler without plates

Postby bristolio » Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:11 pm

Hi good people I’ve searched and read through this forum and couldn’t find much info on a question I m hoping to get some advice on. Im very new to this and I’m looking looking to build a 4” bubbler as that’s what looks like will be a good all rounder with reasonable run times. The only problem is it’s looking to be about 1k in parts plus a fair amount of time to build so I’m wondering.. How would a plate still such as the Neutraliser run with out plates and only the packing section and all all other parts. I’m sure it would work but I dot know how not having plates in would affect the run. The reason I’m wondering is if I made it modular I’d be able to split the build time and cost in half until I built the plate section and get on with doing some runs without building something that I might want to soon upgrade. Thoughts please and apologies if this has been discussed cheers
bristolio

equipment: Nothin at moment looking to build or buy when I get my head around it

Re: CM reflux bubbler without plates

Postby bristolio » Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:14 pm

Thought I’d add I’d like to use it for neutrals and remove packing and RC for pot still dark spirits cheers
bristolio

equipment: Nothin at moment looking to build or buy when I get my head around it

Postby Doubleuj » Fri Mar 30, 2018 9:36 am

I don’t think a 500mm packed section would be enough to strip all the flavours out alone to get a pure neutral without doing multiple runs.
A bubbler without plates and rc/packed section would run just like a pot, and should give you good brown spirits :handgestures-thumbupleft:
Doubleuj
Lifetime Member

equipment: 4" stainless glasser

Postby db1979 » Fri Mar 30, 2018 10:16 am