Reflux still build up

Reflux still design and discussion

Reflux still build up

Postby cuz » Sun Feb 24, 2013 4:17 pm

Hi all,

I'm very new to the fantastic world of distilling alcohol but I'm keen az mustard to get stuck right in.
So, I recently purchased this lil beauty off WineGlass:

I then acquired the keg you see in that pic and after removing the spear,which just basically jumped out when I showed it the hammer and chisel, I sat the still on top.
I'm now waiting on a keg element from Macstill and I need my plumber mate to weld me in a connection for the still to keg. I will also get him to make me a simple product cooler and extend the outlet pipe to make it easier to catch my hooch!!

As I had a rare day off work today, I decided to get stuck into the cooling side of things.
When I picked up the boka off WineGlass, I saw his radiator cooling set up and decided straight away that I was going to copy it.
So, with that in mind, I started with an old recycling crate, a $10 EBAY FORD EF radiator, a spare set of FORD EF twin thermo fans,
a $20 Bunnings pond pump
and a few various hose that I had just laying around.
The radiator is secured to the crate by some heavy-duty aluminium L-channel and silicone. The thermos are well secured to all that and will be running off a spare car battery.
The plan is to have the water pump from the crate, to the product cooler, up to the coil, back into the bottom of the radiator. It will then be cooled my the thermos as it rises up to the top radiator hose and back into the crate. :think: :think: Thoughts???

The little pond pump will run off 240v mains, along with the element. I'm also looking at getting a 2 ring LPG burner to help pour some heat into it at the start of a run.
I am still a little worried about the pond pump, but at $20 I figured that it was worth a go and I can always upgrade if it shits itself.
Here is a vid of it in action: