My Boka build.

Reflux still design and discussion

My Boka build.

Postby newbiboozer » Mon Jun 17, 2013 4:23 pm

Hi I am new to distilling and am currently gathering materials for a boka build to get away from the crap HBS so called reflux still I have. I plan to build a 1.8m 2" colunm of which 1.5m will be packed with copper mesh.I will post some pics as the build progresses. I have some questions before I get going.
1. Will there be a problem running a 1/2" take off pipe. It just works better with my design and what fittings and pipe I have. i see most use 1/4"
2. From what I have read a 150mm 1/4" double coil condenser is fine for this build and will use 3m of pipe. I have 4m of pipe is there any point in going longer and use all the pipe I have for the condenser.
3. When run as a pot still do you run any colunm below the head and is it still benificial to run a liebig on the side.
4. I have read the tutorials on winding the condenser they say to go slowly when doing this. Is it really hard to do without kinking the pipe and do you recommend a spring bender.any advice would be good on this topic.
5. Should the colunm be packed from the very bottom where it joins the boiler to the top below the bottom plate or should there be some gap.
6. I see some builders place the thermometer below the bottom plate and some above the top plate and some even a second one at the very top. What do you recommend.
7. Some say to pack some mesh in the top of the condenser coil how much and what does it do.
8. Does anyone use any type of reflux centering device as suggested by some builders. If so what type do you use.
9. With the triclamp/triclover ferrules does the pipe fit into the fitting or vise versa or does it just but up to the pipe and solder on.
10. Is there any need to have control of coolant flow.