cleaning a still

All general & off topic posts go here
Live Chat Is Here

cleaning a still

Postby Johnboy1234 » Thu Jun 09, 2011 1:59 pm

As a newbie I am totally flabbergasted that the brewing shops do not tell you that you HAVE to do a sacrificial wash for your 1st run on a brand new still. Even when you mention it to them they just shrug their shoulders and say dunno, or they will say just do a run with hot water and that will be OK.

I only found out about the sacrificial wash thing through an american distillers forum, and they swear that ALL stills whether factory or homemade need an alcohol wash for the 1st run to as hot alcohol really scours out any unwanted crap or flux, far more so than scrubbing by hand or whatever.

Do you think the brewing shops should warn their customers about it, or are those guys in the american forum just being really fussy?
Johnboy1234

equipment: Euro 30-2 25L column reflux still

Re: cleaning run

Postby Heffers » Thu Jun 09, 2011 4:24 pm

Even if they are being overly fussy I agree with them. Better to err on the side of caution.

I'm just about to finish a pot still which will get about an hour of vinegar/water steam through it then a 50L molasses wash put through and turfed. This is after I was fanatical about cleaning each join after soldering/brazing.

Cheers, Heffers
Heffers

equipment: 2.5" Pot Still for Stripping
2.5" Condensor Controlled - Neutral Producer
2.2kW 50L Keg

Postby MacStill » Thu Jun 09, 2011 4:59 pm

Johnboy1234 wrote:are those guys in the american forum just being really fussy?

If it's the site I'm thinking about yes they are fussy, and I do agree with most of them, but unfortunately that site has a few members that think it's their right to treat newbies with contempt when it comes to "fussy"...... hence the reason I started this forum ;)

Cheers.
MacStill
Lifetime Member

equipment: Anything I choose :P

Postby Johnboy1234 » Fri Jun 10, 2011 7:15 am