Yeast nutrient additions to sugar wash

Sugar wash info and questions

Yeast nutrient additions to sugar wash

Postby NeddyJ » Fri May 22, 2020 10:24 am

Not sure if this has been posted but just wanting to know how much yeast nutrient do people add to their sugar washes. How much do people believe is too much etc. I've heard it can be bad to add too much?
Cheers.
NeddyJ

equipment: 2" copper pot still, 2" homemade LM 1500 high (black scoria packing), 4" homemade LM 1500ish high (black scoria packing), plus 4" 5 plate, 75l homemade boiler with 2x 2200w elements.

Re: Yeast nutrient additions to sugar wash

Postby Jono » Sat May 23, 2020 9:13 am

NeddyJ wrote:Not sure if this has been posted but just wanting to know how much yeast nutrient do people add to their sugar washes. How much do people believe is too much etc. I've heard it can be bad to add too much?
Cheers.

Hey mate,

I'm new to distilling and the only thing I've ever added to a birdwatchers tpw is the tomato paste and lemon juice... Just Google birdwatchers calculator... Oh and I only make the SG to around 1070 as recommended for flavour! Aerate the shite out of it with a paint mixer on a battery drill too and it will ferment like a mofo.

Cheers,

Jono
Jono

equipment: 50L Beer keg boiler with two 2.4kw elements, a kegland controller, 2 inch Bokakob aka Billy Bob Boka and Jack the stripper a 2.5inch shell and tube condenser for pot mode or stripping... Building up to getting a 4 inch plate still

Postby NeddyJ » Wed May 27, 2020 10:26 am

Hey Jono,

I'm well aware of the famous birdwatchers, just fiddling around to get something different/better if i can, and i have heard that DAP is a better source of nutrients and has (in the right doses) exactly what the yeast needs in nutrition. Ill also be changing up the yeasts used too to see what works faster, better etc don't get me wrong tp and bakers yeast, it is great just trying to see what else is out there.
NeddyJ