Questions about malted corn! I need your wisdom

all about mashing and fermenting grains

Questions about malted corn! I need your wisdom

Postby M8Harry » Mon Jan 04, 2021 7:52 pm

Hi all,

While I am relatively new to distilling compared to most of you, I am picking it up and I plan to do a bit of all grain and a bit of neutral for the essences i really enjoy.

I have 2 decommissioned kegs for conversion to AG gear. I plan to cut the lid out of one and mount some legs on it and a platform for a gas burner under it and i have a simple mash tun, i do plan to ferment on grain to start with. The 2nd keg i have no plans for yet.

My main questions about AG is Malted Corn.

I had this notion of making a corn whiskey using flaked maize and malted corn as the enzyme source but some sites show malted corn has a low diastatic power and some sites say it has zero and I'm really confused.

Am I wrong when I think of corn whiskey being exclusively corn? (no barley)

Even the Traditional Appalachian (U.S.) sweet mash corn whiskey recipe on the site says you can make it on corn malt but if it has zero diastatic power then we have a problem with conversion, but if the recipe says you can do it then I must be missing something.

I spoke to a local Gladfields distributor and he said the malted corn he stocks has ZERO diastatic power, so if its a malted grain with zero enzyme action why would people use it over flaked maize?

Looking for a bit of guidance please.
M8Harry

equipment: Pure distilling Reflux Still with a 25L boiler

5 star mk2 visualiser and 50L milk can boiler

Re: Questions about malted corn! I need your wisdom

Postby wynnum1 » Mon Jan 04, 2021 9:11 pm

What do you pay for the corn as it can be malted but unless going to be done in bulk is going to take a lot of effort for little reward .