Semi Beginner with a few questions

Just starting out and need some advise? then post it in here.

Semi Beginner with a few questions

Postby schoolofmonkey » Thu May 19, 2022 5:41 pm

Hey all.

I'm kind of new to all this, started dabbling with a air still (I know), just wasn't happy with what was coming out of it, even with the extra effort refining (at the moment) sugar washes, moved up to the T500 Copper Reflux kit, I know the bad rap it gets, but everyone has been happy with what's been coming out so far, making cuts, etc etc
I read the Running a T500, the Proper Way thread, pretty much have been doing all that besides changing the output plastic pipe to copper, which I did today (thank you Bunnings :)) ), I am running the water pump/reservoir because I have a house full of kids who run the water constantly for some reason.
I do have a power controller, but I haven't used it yet.
Also did the first cleanout of the reflux, ran the stainless steal saddles through the dishwasher, plus let the copper saddles sit in warm a water/citric acid bath overnight, they always look clean in the liquid, but then go dull after they dry off, I already had a spare packet as I was using them in the air still as boil enhancers.

So currently all I've done are sugar washes, I have 2x25L fermenters, pretty much using the Still Spirits kits, got to say you well and truly can taste the difference between the Still Spirits Pure Yeast Kit and the Turbo kit, turbo is just off I guess is the best way to put it.
I'm wanting to move up to proper mashes or grains eventually, still getting the feel for fermentation etc.

There's a few questions, which I'm having issues finding answers to: