Liquid Malts

This area is for recipes that are not yet proven, use this area for experiments, recipe research and development of your own variations. Once a recipe is accepted as being good by the consensus it will be moved to the proven section.

Liquid Malts

Postby bt1 » Thu May 31, 2012 5:34 pm

Be keen to hear from anyone using liquid malts and their thoughts.

Brands, results whatever.

cheers
bt1
bt1

equipment: 2 x Glass Bubblers, 5 plate 89mm & 6 plate 110mm
4" 6 plate copper bubbler, 500mm copper packed section
Several pots, custom boiler
14 keg rotating brew setup, fermentation & dispenser fridges.

Re: Liquid Malts

Postby Frank » Thu May 31, 2012 6:53 pm

I recently put a 1.5kg can of Coopers light malt extract in my DWWG wash, as I am keen to get to the bottom of a good flavour profile for Scotch.
I'm only new at trying for distilling (having made LOTS of beers with liquid malt) but there seemed to be less obvious malt smell/taste in the 'aired' distillate than when I used dried malt extract; mind you...but that's not a bad thing.

It was certainly worth further investigation (esp with other wash recipes) IMHO and, hopefully, I get a letter soon from someone whom knows a LOT more about this. ;-) :whistle: and I'll be happy to add more here if I can.
Frank

Postby R-sole » Thu May 31, 2012 7:33 pm

It's in the post. Should be there tommorow if it wasn't today. :doh:
R-sole

equipment: Keg based pot stiller. 3" vm for occasionally making product for macerations and redistillation.

Postby Rumdrinker » Thu May 31, 2012 10:58 pm

Frank wrote:I recently put a 1.5kg can of Coopers light malt extract in my DWWG wash, as I am keen to get to the bottom of a good flavour profile for Scotch.
I'm only new at trying for distilling (having made LOTS of beers with liquid malt) but there seemed to be less obvious malt smell/taste in the 'aired' distillate than when I used dried malt extract; mind you...but that's not a bad thing.