Hi All, Great Site! & a few quick questions

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Postby snig » Tue May 08, 2012 10:16 am

Hi Everyone, Great website!
Im in Adelaide SA and work for Holden
I'm only new to distilling, a mate bought one last year up the river. We liked it so myself and another mate went halves in one
We bought the turbo 500 without really looking too much into it.
When doing more research we could have saved some $ and built our own, but that can happen later on down the track ( We are looking for mainly bourbon too)
We are looking a doing a turbo cook very soon, it has been fermenting for over a week
Just a few quick questions as I didnt want to start a new topic and I've read a lot of posts, Are you meant to take cuts with the turbo 500? The still spirits vid just says to discard the initial 50 ml (foreshots?) Then the rest is good to go (she said the end is when it stops flowing)..... but reading on here there is alot more to it than that.
I used the recipe from the HBS 8kg sugar (a little too much I know) turbo classic yeast and all the clearing crapola
Is it a good time to start testing the cuts? or should I wait until I do a TPW then start doing it?
I'm still learning all the terminology and lingo
Once again, great site and I can't wait to experiment and learn :text-thankyoublue: in advance

Snig
snig

equipment: Noob with a turbo 500

Re: Hi All, Great Site! & a few quick questions

Postby SBB » Tue May 08, 2012 10:23 am

G'day Snig
Yes there is a lot more to it, and yes you should be doing cuts.
The following link will provide you with most of the information you need, but you will also find more spread around the site.
viewtopic.php?f=41&t=874
SBB
Lifetime Member

equipment: (The Pelican) a 2 inch pot / stripper on 25L electric boiler interchangable with T500 reflux still...... 2 1/2 inch pot still on 50L keg (gas burner).....
3 inch Boka (half share with Draino),...... 4 inch 4 plate perforated plate Bubbler