Hi from Dunedin - New Zealand

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Hi from Dunedin - New Zealand

Postby Johnboy1234 » Wed Jun 08, 2011 11:04 am

Just discovered this forum, I have been using an american one, but saw this one and figured hey Much closer to home.

I am a novice and just did my very 1st run using a Euro 30-2 reflux still and the bourbon turned out the best I have ever tasted, so now I am addicted to making my own, as I couldn't go back to the commercial products after tasting my stuff.

Heres what I did.

I put 6kg of sugar to 23L of water and then added 1 pack of SUPER BREW yeast with nutrients included. A little bit too much sugar, thats why it took 3 weeks to stop fermenting. When it finally stopped fermenting it was about 1/2 inch below the 990 mark on the hydrometer, this was the best I could get it, it also had a very faint apple yeasty smell about it.

Then I distilled half as a sacrificial wash as the still was brand new, then yesterday I distilled the other half. I measured the potency at 20C and it read 92%.

I then added 100% water to water it down to 46%

After that I ran it all through a VERTAFLOW Carbon Filter at the rate of 1 drop per 1 second. A bloody long wait, and in fact I am still waiting for the last of it to drip thru today. Though it was well worth the wait as the was no longer any of that apple/yeasty smell.

Then I added 3/4 of a teaspoon of Ageing Smoothing Syrup, and 2 teaspoons of Black Label whiskey flavour to 900mls of 39% spirit and stirred it all up for a couple of mins................and VOILA the best bourban I have ever tasted.