Hey guys, enthusiastic learner incoming

Say Hi and introduce yourself

Hey guys, enthusiastic learner incoming

Postby bosnitch » Tue Oct 04, 2011 9:31 pm

G'day, I'm Andrew from Toowoomba,

I'm fairly new to all this, been reading round this forum for the last few weeks and have learnt heaps from you all...that and a bit of experience, ha. Out of interests sake how old are some of you blokes and how long have you been at this? I'm just 21 and a keen as rum drinker which is how I arrived here today: I've been known to drink in solid moderation and was searching for cheaper options-my Nan bought me a SS still. Reading here that thing sounds like a bit of a con job, but it's got me onto a hobby I'll have for years to come, right.

Anyhoo, thanks for all the great info, be getting myself onto a real still in the not too distant future (I hope, ha), some rum recipes and practice, practice.

Have a good one
bosnitch

equipment: Crap atm.
Looking into a decent pot for rum

Re: Hey guys, enthusiastic learner incoming

Postby busman » Wed Oct 05, 2011 6:30 am

Hi Bosnitch,

You might want to edit our your name and location ;)

Welcome aboard, there is heaps of good info and great guys here to answer any questions you might have about your new hobby. I'm 32 and just started this as well, and found this forum to be the best on the web. :mrgreen:

Cheers
busman

equipment: 2" VM column, 2" pot still, 55L keg boiler

Postby maheel » Wed Oct 05, 2011 8:06 am

hey mate and welcome

i started home brewing when i was about 21 and i am nearly double that now :whistle:

which SS still have you got ? although not the "best" you can still make good product on most things. Just on better stills it's easier to get a much better product.

biggest tip i wish i had got 15 years ago is "get a keg boiler", start with a keg and it's all good from there
maheel

Postby Frank » Wed Oct 05, 2011 5:11 pm

Hi mate and welcome.