Help me decide stainless bubble tees or glass bubbler sectio

Perforated & bubble cap plated columns

Help me decide stainless bubble tees or glass bubbler sectio

Postby kingy » Mon Oct 31, 2022 4:03 pm

The time has come to put some plate sections on my still.
I've ruled out copper I'm leaning towards stainless as I have a stainless addiction. But the glass would be really cool to watch.
I'm worried about the glass getting scratched and worn and having to replace the glass and full breakdown and cleaning them and getting them back together with no leaks as a problem. However I have no experience with them so it's probably easier than I think. How often should they be fully dismantled or is just a rinse out with water after each run of a recipe sufficient.
Stainless seems more durable easy to clean but harder to see what's going on.
I'm after some feedback on what you guys and girls run and if your happy with what you have or do you wish you went another way.
Cheers.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
kingy

equipment: 4inch modular up to 5 plates and a packed section
50 litre 2x 2400w elements boiler
100 litre E herms brewery with a 130litre gas boiler

Re: Help me decide stainless bubble tees or glass bubbler se

Postby kingy » Mon Oct 31, 2022 4:22 pm

Photos of your still would be good to !!
Last edited by kingy on Mon Oct 31, 2022 4:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
kingy

Postby Wellsy » Mon Oct 31, 2022 4:51 pm

Definitely glass
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Wellsy

equipment: FSD 4” Modular Pot Still plus 4 FSD Bubble plates on FSD 50 ltr Milk Can Boiler + 2 x 2400W FSD Element and Guard Kits

Postby Wellsy » Mon Oct 31, 2022 4:55 pm

Middle sections are a little foggy as I have just turned the still on.
You do not need to break down the sections and to clean if you want to you stick your hand inside at the triclamp junction.