First Copper Pot Still Condenser Build.

Pot still design and discussion

Postby Milky » Sat Apr 20, 2013 8:36 am

Hi All. Thought I'd share this with you all.

My friend & I both have a Pure Distilling Reflux Still. I have only been on this forum for a couple of weeks.
My friend has had his for 2 years now. I just got mine for my birthday and am yet to give it a go. My friend & I thought of mucking around trying to make a pot still condenser of our own based on the Pure Distilling Pot Condenser. I'm an Aircraft Structural Technician & thought it would be a sweet project.

Below is a pic of the Pure Distilling Pot Condenser.

uploadfromtaptalk1366410800076.jpg

It is made from 2 inch copper tube. I found a 10 foot length of 2.5 in copper tubing in our scrap metal bin a contractor had thrown out so I nabbed it and started work.

I haven't silver soldered or TIG welded for a couple of years & figured that I could probably TIG weld the copper rather than soldering. It worked out really well, using thin strips of copper sheet as the filler rod.

So the next thing was to work out a lid attachment. We didn't want to buy an extra Pure Distilling boiler lid for $28 so I mentioned to my friend I could try knocking up one from copper sheet on our Piccolo (stretching & shrinking machine). I just went straight ahead & formed it without annealing the sheet. Next time I will anneal the sheet to get a deeper concave but for now it will do. I used the Jenny Form roller to roll the 7/8 in lip then stretched it flat back in the Piccolo. Then in the Jenny for the 1/4 in lip finished by had on our metal stake forming table.

Here is a pic of the lid fitted on the boiler
uploadfromtaptalk1366410722450.jpg