My VM Build

Reflux still design and discussion

My VM Build

Postby JustStillin » Thu Nov 17, 2011 8:46 pm

Thought i'd keep a log of my VM build so here it goes:

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to distilling. I'm starting with a VM to make vodka and then perhaps flavour it.

Design:
No picture, just a description so far.
The design is the VM still from the Nixon book. Like here: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=790#p8864

SS Keg boiler (heat by Gas).
2" column 1500mm high.
column ends in a 2" to 1" reducer, into 1"Tee then another 1" to 2" reducer to bring it back to 2" pipe, which will hold the 6" long double wound condenser.
The take off will be the 1" Tee into SS gate valve into 90degree bend then 1" to 1/2" reducer.
This feeds into my liebig (1/2" with 3/4" water jacket, 24" long)

I still need to buy a gas burner, the 1" SS Gate valve and a tri-clamp to attach the column to the keg.

So far i've built the Liebig and done the first inner wind of the coil.
I'll post some pics when i've finished the coil.

Thanks to all the posts here i'm pretty confident of what to do.
JustStillin

equipment: 4" Perforated plate still
50l keg boiler, 2 x 2400W elements.

Re: My VM Build

Postby JustStillin » Fri Nov 18, 2011 8:14 pm

A little has happened since yesterday, i've finished winding my first coil!!! :D

Thought i'd post a pic for all to see. I'm pretty happy with it, only took me about 2 hours!! :lol: I used Hookline's method with the two mandrels (no salt), wow thats rough on the hands (i work in an office, so my hands are soft as a baby's bot bot).

I haven't cleaned it yet, just finished winding it.

IMG_20111118_202506_s.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
JustStillin

Postby MacStill » Fri Nov 18, 2011 8:44 pm

That's a really good looking coil mate, cant wait to see the rest of the build :clap:
MacStill
Lifetime Member

equipment: Anything I choose :P

Postby JustStillin » Fri Nov 18, 2011 9:02 pm

Thanks Mac.